Like

Published 10/29/2012 by MoonieZ

For a long time it was a problem. For a long time I didn’t believe it was possible. At least not for me.

To be liked.

I thought it only happens to other people. I was sure it would never happen to me, that people would like me for being me.

Of course I had one or two friends while growing up and of course I was always liked by my family and relatives, but there was a long period of time when I didn’t know that anyone else liked me at all. At least nobody told me they did.  And if anyone did, I didn’t really trust that they were  honest about it.

I liked a lot of people. Or at least a few now and then, but I was most often too shy to let them know. However, I’m pretty sure they noticed anyway. I noticed that some people seemed to like me too but I was too shy to ask, to make sure. I always had a doubt, never sure enough to trust the feeling.

So, when the internet came along it helped me to find people who like me and also helped me to finally trust that it was true that they did. Thanks to the internet I also learned to let people know I like them.

These days I sometimes think about what I would be doing and where I would be without the internet. Problem is, I can hardly imagine what it would be like.

Leave a Reply

