Past and present

Published 02/09/2012 by MoonieZ

Been thinking.

It’s a dangerous activity, I know. Sometimes it can’t be helped though.

Late one night not so long ago I had trouble sleeping and started to think about how great it would have been if I had been able to meet a friend from the internet 20 years ago instead of a few years ago. Or for that matter meeting any of the friends I’ve made since getting online the first time 20 years ago instead.

I thought about it because I can see how much I’ve learned by being able to be online and “talk” to people online. Thanks to the internet I’ve been able to learn that social interaction is not so scary and that I indeed have the ability to communicate and make new friends.

For many years I had such trouble with all of that. It got to the point where I gave up on it but that doesn’t mean I was keeping myself isolated,  I simply became too afraid of failure to even try at the times when I were going out among other people to cinemas, concerts, museums, shops and vacations.

Also I used to have too many weird ideas about how to go about connecting with other people, making the task more difficult than it needed to be. For too long I lived too much in my own head. Always feeling like being on the outside looking in on a party but having no idea how to open the door.

Not until the internet arrived. From then on, I’ve learned so much of what I should have needed to know a lot sooner in order to make the most of the past.

Probably it’s useless to dwell on a past that never was but this is what I’ve done for a few days.

Peace.

Leave a Reply

