Ten years ago

Published 09/11/2011 by MoonieZ

Ten years ago today. I was at home. It was the day before my birthday. I had almost recovered from the first round of problems with my legs and had started working again. At least part-time. One would think it would be easy to remember all the details of that time but all I really remember is how hard it was to believe what I saw on the TV news that afternoon.

We were in the kitchen. My mother was there and my aunt who had come to visit for my birthday. We had been getting things ready for my birthday dinner when the reports came in over the radio and we had switched on the TV set in the kitchen. None of us could understand how what was happening right before our eyes could possibly be true.

The first news I heard about a plane crashing into one of the World Trade Center buildings I thought it was an accident involving some small private aircraft or helicopter. Then when I learned it was a hijacked commercial jet, a Boeing, I could no longer believe it was really happening. That it wasn’t an accident ,that somebody had flown the plane deliberately into the building, was impossible to really understand. Then I saw the second plane crash into the tower in real-time on TV and just felt horror and sadness.

Peace.

 

Leave a Reply

