Internet fantasy

Published 03/26/2011 by MoonieZ

Yes, I’ve heard it a lot so I thought I’d write about it.

How the Internet is just one huge fantasy playground for children of all ages – even adult ones. How one should always assume people aren’t like themselves when they’re online. They’re all pretending, playing, acting, and nobody is being their real everyday self. Let me tell you this: that’s a lot of bullshit. Most people are the same as they would be out in the street or anywhere else you might run into them. Sure some might be acting differently in some situations  but my experience is that most people aren’t online acting or pretending to be something they’re not.

I have never pretended to be anybody else than the real person I am. Only difference is that Internet has provided me a chance to meet people and make friends without my shyness getting so much in the way as it usually has in the so called “real life” world. But just because I find it easier to speak and interact when I’m online does not change who I am or the way I look or anything else.

I’m sure there are people who make a living pretending and acting and see the online world as pure fantasy playground. That’s fine for them – just don’t bother me with it. I know who I am and what I am and I am sure of who my friends are both the ones online and the ones offline. Somebody will probably claim I’m wrong but it won’t matter.  Live and let live instead.  As long as we’re all having fun and are happy what does it matter how we perceive the internet world ? I see real people behind nicknames and cam images, who do you see ?

Leave a Reply

