Calvin & Hobbes

Published 02/18/2011 by MoonieZ

Calvin and Hobbes

Image via Wikipedia

How quickly one forgets.  I can’t believe I have written over 800 blog posts and not even once  mentioned the best comic strip I’ve ever read: Bill Watterson‘s Calvin & Hobbes.

In this post I will correct this monumental case of memory loss.

During the late 1980’s and early 1990’s I read and collected every book of Calvin & Hobbes comic strips I could get my hands on.

I discovered the world of Calvin & Hobbes not through reading the strips in a daily paper but by buying one of the first books of collected daily comic strips at a store where I usually bought the international magazines such as Rolling Stone,  Premiere,  Details, Life Magazine, MAD and  Playboy I used to read in those years before the Internet. Later I also found a dedicated comic book store where I bought some Calvin & Hobbes books as well.

I immediately loved the world of Calvin & Hobbes and could identify with Calvin as he struggled to balance his rich fantasies and imagination with the demands of the real world around him. To me Calvin and Hobbes is a celebration of art and imagination infused with a lot of  humor, intelligence and wit. There is also a strong dose of humanity.

The characters are impossible not to sympathize with and they are all very well-defined and yet they never seem only one-dimensional.  The power of Watterson’s texts and art combines into a beautiful whole, making the world within it totally believable.

I can’t begin to describe how much this comic strip has inspired and influenced me. Obviously I have integrated it so much that I don’t even remember to mention it when I write about books I’ve read over the years. Shame on me!

One comment on “Calvin & Hobbes

Leave a Reply

