“The Mist”

Published 10/29/2008 by MoonieZ

Cover of "The Mist (Two-Disc Collector's ...

Cover via Amazon

I really shouldn’t be frightened by this movie  version of The Mist because I know the story so well from reading Stephen King‘s novella over and over, on which the film by Frank Darabont is based.

But. This movie scared the s**t out of me when I watched it this evening. Not only has Darabont managed to translate the words of King into great visuals, he has also crafted a very good ending to the story, which in the novella had no real ending at all. At first I protested against the ending while watching it, but after a while thinking about it, I knew it was right for the story and the for the film. A film must have some kind of resolution, it can’t just stop in the middle of the action. At least not if it wants to be a profitable film.

One comment on ““The Mist”

  • Yeah. The novella didn’t really have an ending, and I think the ending to the film was soo twistedddd. This film was a lot better than I expected. Definitely one of the best horrors of 2007.

  • Leave a Reply

