Music

Published 03/22/2008 by MoonieZ

Music is very important in my life, second only to cinema. Listening to music is what I usually do when I feel sad, depressed, under the weather, in a bad mood, low and out of sync with the world around me. Or when I miss someone I like. Sometimes I also listen when I feel happy, and everything is fine but I find that music affects me more and helps me change my mood better when I’m feeling low but not as much when I feel good.

I used to own and buy a lot of music cds but I don’t anymore. I still own some albums but most of them I have ripped and stored as files on the computer and then sold off the cds on ebay and similar sites. There was a time recently when I didn’t need the music as much, but I needed money the more. Now I regret selling some of the cds but usually I still have most of the songs stored in mp3 format.

My taste in music is not reserved for only one genre, but my preference is usually rock and some pop, soul, reggae and folk. I often claim that I only listen to music made by people who are now dead, like Jim Morrison of the The Doors, Jimi Hendrix, Buddy Holly, Bob Marley and so on. And it has some truth to it, but I also listen to a lot of music made by a lot of people who are still very much alive. My favourites have been mostly the same over the years since my late teens. In the rock category that means  Bruce Springsteen and John Mellencamp share the top of the list, closely followed by Southside Johnny, Steve Earle , Neil Young and Don Henley. Then there are too many names of individuals and bands left for me to be able to mention here that I also like.

Finally I’d like to say I agree with Bob Marley that one great thing about music is: when it hits you feel no pain.

Leave a Reply

