Strange days

Published 07/16/2005 by MoonieZ

Hello it’s me again ! Did you miss me? Nah, I didn’t think so. I am here all the time. Probably because nothing happens. Maybe things happen but not that I notice.

Friday I was at the hospital again for another round of treatment. My leg still looks the same. At least that is good. It is not so good to just go around waiting, it makes me depressed. Anyway I got an appointment with a surgeon that will hopefully be able to perform a skin transplant later in the fall. I hope this time it will work. I have been in treatment for a full year soon so it is about time something happens.

The rest of the day I looked at movies. Tony Scott’s Man on Fire was better then I expected and also different. It is a violent movie but not at all like I thought, for which I am happy. The way it is done makes the movie better. Denzel Washington is also perfect in the leading role. Only the style of the movie put me off a bit. I had some trouble following the story due to some over-stylized photography and editing. On the other hand it is a visually stunning movie that can be watched just for the photographic splendor. The movie reminds me of the Asian directors in terms of style and story.

Later I watched an old favorite: John Badham‘s War Games, which I hadn’t seen for about 20 years. It was nice to see it again, still gave me a thrill and reminded me how close to total war the world were many times during the Cold War days. How one mistake or malfunction could have set it all off and destroyed mankind. Also the movie had some scenes from Seattle, Washington. At least it looked like the Seattle skyline.
I have only passed through the international airport in Seattle once on my way to a connecting flight for San Diego, California, after a non-stop flight from Copenhagen, Denmark. I think it was 10 years ago. Anyway I remember that we missed the connection due to the confusing underground transportation system.

During the night I had a chat with my old friend and fell asleep in front of the computer, woke up went to bed and woke again by the sound of thunder and rain. Noticed it was Saturday morning. Slept some more and woke up in the afternoon. And here I am now, writing this belated update.
What I will do the rest of the day I don’t know yet, but I hope you all have a great weekend.

Over and out !

Leave a Reply

